Book Review: Black Hole Sun

Black Hole Sun (Hell’s Cross #1)

By David Macinnis Gill

340 pages

Genres: Action, Dystopian, Sci-fi, Mars

Rating: 5/5 Stars

Book Summary: Meet Durango. A teenage mercenary trying to eke out a living on Mars, who’s lost his family and most of his crew. Durango’s playing the cards the he was dealt – and you don’t want to mess with him, because he’s got the scars to prove it.


Ok, I was really desperate here: the library was closing in 5 minutes and I had not picked out a book. The librarians were giving me the evil eye, so I grabbed the first YA book I saw:

I’m sorry, but this cover. NOPE. I prefer the newer cover.

…and ran.

My librarians can be pretty scary, yo.

Imagine my reaction when I finally opened the inside cover to see what the book was about… only to be greeted with a badass summary!

YAAAAAS. 😀


We start out with a violent scene and then switch to where our main character is. Durango is a mercenary and currently at a job: we soon learn that his davos (crew) only consists of himself, his second (Vienne) and Mimi, an AI in his head. Durango is somewhat of a do-gooder: although it might be detrimental to him, he takes on low paying jobs. He saves all his money to bribe the guards at his father’s jail: although we don’t know what Daddy Dearest has done yet, it’s clear something went down…

And you really want to find out what.

Durango ends up taking another job all the way at a mining post in the middle of nowhere, and he enlists the help of mercenaries: Jenkins and Fuse, along with a tow-a-long jerk who invited himself and his apprentice. All in all, not enough to combat the fierce and disturbing enemies that are the Draeu (cannibalistic humans). Of course, things start to go wrong, but the author pulls everything together, from slowly hinting at the characters pasts and, of course, the final boss/enemy reveal.

This book could not have worked if it hadn’t been for the author’s style (or Durango’s, I guess). This way of writing was one of the strongest points in the book. I loved the author’s style of writing: it was fast paced and sassy. I could not get enough of comments like this:

“I’m not programmed for exaggeration.”

“You’re not programmed for sarcasm either, but that hasn’t slowed you down.”

-Mimi and Durango, pg 11

and this:

“Acrophobia and grandiose delusions?” she says. “With your plethora of psychoses, it’s a wonder I fit into your brain at all.”
“Then maybe you should lose some weight.”

-Mimi and Durango, pg 15

See what I mean? And it’s not just the writing: the plot is interesting, and the characters also have personality. They each have something that makes them amusing and stand out: Fuse like explosions, Vienne is a boss and Durango is sassy. (F: I’m randomly popping in to say hi. Sarah, let’s get things straight: I’m the boss and you’re the way too sassy one. Got it? Ok bye, tuning out) 

This actually kind of describes Durango. Sassy, then something goes wrong, and then he fixes it 🙂

Admittedly, the book is kind of cliche: a warrior with a hidden past, determined to do good no matter what, and predictable plot twists. (F: Then I guess they aren’t really plot twists then… lol. Ok seriously I’m leaving already.)

However, despite my initial doubts, this book managed to surprise me, keep my attention and make me desperate for the second book! A well done (and obviously well planned book), this book will entertain YA action fans everywhere (and there’s even some romance 🙂 )

Sarah ❤

Talk to Us!

