Book Review: The Floating Islands by Rachel Neumeier

8377150

The Floating Islands by Rachel Neumeier

400 pgs

Genre: Fantasy, adventure, middle grade-ish

Published: February 8th 2011 by Knopf Books for Young Readers

“But here, where both sea and sky lay pearl-grey in the dawn, the wonder of the Floating Islands broke at last into the haze.

Then the early sun, rising, turned the air to gold and the sea to sapphire and picked the Islands out of the mist like jewels. In that light, they seemed too beautiful to hold terror or despair or anguish.”


What was magical or tragic-al?

Let me break it down to how I felt about this book for you. 

This is the book for you if you want to feel immersed in a fantasy world. You want world building? You got it. It’s even got a map which is always a plus for books! The idea of floating islands really stuck out to me which is why I chose to read this book. I haven’t read one like this yet so I was like, why not? So here we go.

This GIF = when this book sings “I can show you the world…” to you

Here’s what I didn’t enjoy as much: Personally, I didn’t feel that much happen. I’m always an avid supporter of things happening. I mean, it doesn’t have to be jam packed with action but I was disappointed because with the aspect of floating islands and this whole new worlddddd (a new fantastic point of viewww…) there was so much potential for so many things to happen on so many different [floating island] levels.

I just expected more excitement, you know? Admittedly, I got slightly bored. That would probably be why I wasn’t totally immersed into this whole world though, it did provide you with a fantastic point of view. 

Also the map was a nice touch but here’s a pet peeve; there were places mentioned that weren’t on the map. It’s quite a petty thing, I’d say, but it got me like “Where on Earth… er this WORLD, is this city? Tell me at once!” 

Overall, even with all these minor details, I always appreciate the effort gone into the imagination and writing of this book. “The Floating Islands” is great if you’re really wanting to read a book that has world building and something a little closer to middle grade books. Some descriptions are pretty on point too. (Just check out the quote!) So who knows? You might really enjoy this book! Otherwise, I found it alright.  

Rating: 3/5

~ Faith

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Floating Islands by Rachel Neumeier

  1. Faye (@kawaiileena) says:

    Interesting! I’ve always found the concept of floating islands a pretty cool idea, too. The first time I encountered that concept was in the MANGA/ANIME ONE PIECE, where a forgotten civilization was shot up to the sky. Hopefully, despite the lack of action going on, the world-building aspect would make the world magical enough for my attention to last!

    Faye at The Social Potato

    Liked by 1 person

    • sublimereads says:

      This Sarah here (not Faith 😀 )
      I too encountered floating islands while reading One Piece (You are totally talking about Skypiea right?)
      Speaking of world building, what did you think of One Piece’s action to world building ratio? I’m planning on doing a series review, but I would like to know what other people think 🙂

      Like

Talk to Us!

