Movie Review: The Scorch Trials (Novel by James Dashner)

I love the posters for these movies… I can smell the adventure through them before even watching it! (Click the image for more info about the movie.)

Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials

Release Date: September 18, 2015 (USA)

Director: Wes Ball

Writers: T.S. Nowlin (screenplay), James Dashner (novel)

Movie Length: 2 hrs and 12 mins

Motion Picture Rating: PG-13

Genre: Action, suspense/thriller, sci-fi, dystopian, YA


The Trailer


A Spoiler Free Movie Review

(Written by a fangirl at midnight)

When you’re trying to explain your feelings about a book/movie to someone so that they’ll understand but you just can’t.

You know you’re in love with a movie when you finish it and you can’t get over it – don’t want to get over it. The credits are rolling and you already know… No. The movie is only half way through and you know that this is one that you wouldn’t mind re-watching over and over again. You know that you’ll be in pieces by the time the last movie of the series comes out. You can’t stop thinking about it, ranting about it to everyone you know or anyone online who will listen, and emotions are just coursing through your veins. Your friends ask if you’re okay but you know that you’re either better than you’ve ever been or in more distress due to  the actual ending of the movie. This doesn’t stop at movies… it also goes for books.

I’m struck by the post-movie feels. Yes, I loved this movie that much and I’ll probably be dreaming about it in my sleep. I would have liked to say that the book was DEFINITELY better than the movie, that everything was just different, or that books will always be the better version, just to represent the book lover community. But these movies just exceeded my expectations. Personally, the second was just as good as the first. It was action one after the another (which I love) and the special effects were realistic; I could see it in real time with my eyes closed. 

What I really liked about all these characters were that they were really portrayed as fighters in the movie. They kicked butt…  of basically everyone who got in their way and there would be tons of scenes where I would just sit back and admire the number of epic moves made by both guys and girlsI loved how the action scenes were choreographed and it was so pulse pounding I almost forgot to breathe. 

Basically there was a lot of this:

…and this. Seriously though, these moves… how can you not appreciate them?

If you’re not a fan of action, I would say this is (well quite obviously by the title and trailer) not really for you. Also, if you’re a total romantic, this series may not appeal to you either. You could say that there are love interests but quite honestly, these books (and movies) worked fine without all the hassle about who likes whom.

For instance, these teens are in a self-destructive apocalyptic universe, the world is literally crumbling at their feet and romance suddenly seeps through (S: ERMIGAD WE’RE GONNA DIE IF WE DON’T FALL IN LOVE – not. F: Or, “OH NO this building is crashing down on top of us but WAIT we better kiss before it falls just in case we die because we’re FALLING for each other.” I’m telling you, you gonna die if you don’t get outta that building fast. Just sayin’.) Sometimes romance works well as a demonstration of “love prevailing at the heart of annihilation” but others, it just helps to eliminate unnecessary distractions. Or is reserved for the “love experts”. (AKA Rainbow Rowell)

Having said all this, I still enjoy reading books by James Dashner (who is the original mastermind) but I have to admire the director’s interpretation of the story in the movies. Usually, movies leave out a lot of sections in books that we love but here, the sped up version in the movie was nice too, in its own way. (S: I know a lot of people that said the movies benefited from the lack of details and random, unexplained parts in the books). After all, it is due to the books that I’m watching these movies now.

I finished the movie just about an hour ago so I’m typing this just in time to capture my pure un-wavered thoughts, emotions, and opinions about the movie. (S: Yup, I’m pretty sure this gal was writing this at 12 AM. F: Yup, that’s when the creative juices really decide to flow and when things just start spilling out). The Scorch Trials will be among my top favourite movies for a long time… along with The Maze Runner, of course. The entire series will probably be. Meanwhile, other book-movie series didn’t fare as well with me. (Ahem Percy Jackson ahem)

On a positive note, the movie for the final book in the trilogy, The Death Cure, is said to be released on February 17, 2017. But here’s the great part – it won’t be split into two part movies if it’s directed by the same director. At least, that’s what I’ve read when I Googled about it. This is great news for YA book movies (in my opinion) because I’m tired of the movie-splitting that is mainly used for profit purposes which basically serves to drag the story out.

I hoped you enjoyed reading about my opinion and if you just felt like I verbally barfed a lot of fangirling on you, my genuine apologies (S: NOT! #SORRYNOTSORRY). Sometimes you just can’t stop a fangirl from doing what she does best. (And when she joins a bunch of other fangirls, boy do you have a whole other thing coming… of the same thing but a billion times more intensified.)

The Scorch (aka the year of waiting between this movie and the next.) I won’t last one day.

Now, I’m only preparing for the epic movie finale in The Maze Runner series. ☺

(S: DAMMIT FAITH NOW I NEED TO GO WATCH IT. SERIOUSLY THIS IS NOT OKAY. I WILL COMMENCE FANGIRLING NOWWWWWWWWWW. TAKE ME WITH YOU TO THE FINALE!)

Rating: 5/5

~ Faith

4 thoughts on “Movie Review: The Scorch Trials (Novel by James Dashner)

  1. Faye (@kawaiileena) says:

    I have never read the books, but your enthusiasm here and the movie gifs are giving me goosebumps. IT must really be a super good movie if it were able to give you post-movie feels (I know how they are, since I just watched THE MARTIAN last night and damn it was good). Plus, 2015 has been really good with book-to-film adaptations so far….

    Faye at The Social Potato

    Liked by 1 person

    • sublimereads says:

      You should definitely watch the Maze Runner! The Martian sounds like a great movie… I only wish that I have enough movie money to watch all these films coming out this year. I agree on what you said though, these adaptions have been pretty good. I actually really liked Paper Towns, have you watched/read that one yet? Anyways, thanks for your comment 🙂

      Like

    • sublimereads says:

      Sorry about this super late reply, but thank you so much! 🙂 Yes, you should definitely go and watch the movies (basically my favourites)… honestly, I think the Maze Runner series is the first one that I enjoyed better than the books. That sounds really bad but I actually had to re-read the beginning of the first book 4 separate times for it to really start going!

      Like

Talk to Us!

