We’re Back + Weekly (or 3 week) recap!

THIS IS THE MOMENT
TONIGHT IS THE NIGHT
WE’LL FIGHT TIL IT’S OVER

So we put our hands up like we finally postin’

Hey guys! Sorry for the impromptu hiatus… doing 3 major biology assingments in the span of two weeks is not healthy. Or good for your eating habits. Or sleep. #RIPWeekofsleep. Or your friendships. Luckily, Faith and my relationship can totally stumble but make it out intact over 3 weeks of biological torture.

This is scarily accurate…

But what’s important is that we are back! We’re also trying out a new way of doing things… motivation (or blackmail, but what’s the difference, really).

So I’d like to introduce our first ever weekly recap!
Since me and Faith read at different speeds, and review at different rates, we will post individual, weekly posts, summarizing what we have read in a week, and indicating what books we will review. We sometimes find we read books that are hard to review (the books that are neither good nor bad, but don’t really stand out either… you know what I’m talking about πŸ˜‰ )

What Sarah has read in the past few weeks despite the fact that she had three big assignments, and what that might say about her.

MAGNUS CHASE AND THE GODS OF ASGARD

I have issues with this book. Like legit issues that are coming to a duo review near you. Just wondering: has anyone else felt uncomfortable with some parts of this book?

 

THE WRATH AND THE DAWN

Let’s be honest, that cover is awful. Trying to emulate this:

The wood design, not the red

and coming up with this:

Well, looks like they took the inspiration from the red…

But a 1001 Nights Retelling? I was so down for this before it happened. But too much hype comes with a price… a duo review coming soon.

CARRY ON

I’m in obsessive love. Some minor issues, typical in the YA genre, but so much respect for the normalization in this. Simon and Baz are so adorable! Review coming soon.

 

 

ILLUMINAE

I totally was not expecting the beauty of that cover in my hands. Or the thickness for that matter. #brokethebankandmyback. There were some things I found annoying, but that ending… Review definitely coming soon.

 

EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING

Enjoyable… but typical YA fare. I sort of understand why people went crazy over it, but at the same time I don’t feel as hyped up.I have some theories on why it’s popular, but of course, you’ll read that in the review.

 

 

 

EVERY BREATH

EVERY romance writer out there should read this and take a page out of that slow burn romance. I couldn’t function… great plot, mystery and character development. The romance was literally the best thing ever added to the best thing you could ever imagine. In case my fangirling hasn’t given it away, this is going to be reviewed.

 

 

PS I STILL LOVE YOU

I’m UBER pissed off at this sequel. I mean, what was going on?!?! “Lemme set up the most perfect romance and then proceed to screw it up in the most cliche way for all of the second book, only to have a reprieve in the last 5 pages”. That’s basically the entirety of my feelings towards that book. NO REVIEW AT ALL 😑

 

THE BLACKTHORN KEY

Middle grade, but thoroughly enjoyable. I feel I have forgotten how if feels to read a book completely unfocused on romance… review coming (possibly) soon.

 

 

 

 

AN INHERITANCE OF ASHES

That cover is beautiful. Perfection printed on paper. So I’m surprised to say this… but a DNF 10 pages in. I don’t know if it was the book or my mood at the time. I’ll try to revisit this later.

 

 

THESE SHALLOW GRAVES

Gorgeous cover… but I felt the plot felt short. It did cover some issues very well, but I felt it was lacking in the ‘mystery’ aspect its selling point consisted of. Filler review coming in the near future.

 

  • DELUSION ROAD
  • THE ART OF GETTING STARTED
  • ALL THE RAGE
  • THE STORY OF OWEN

Delusion Road and everything else on this list will be reviews in January, when Forest of Reading starts…

So this long list may or may not be a way of holding myself accountable for all the reviews I’ve said I’d write. (It totally is). If you guys have read any of these books and want to comment your thoughts, then please do so!

~ Sarah ❀

Talk to Us!

