Book Review: Lark Rising by Sandra Waugh

384 pages
Published: September 23rd 2014 by Random House Books
Genres: YA Fantasy, Action, Romance, Magic

Hey guys! This book was given to me in a giveaway that Sublime Reads won. (YAY US).

tumblr_m8071zpjgt1qegorpo1_500

I’ve decided that my first review of the year would be this 😀 Enjoy!


Summary (taken from Goodreads):

Lark has foreseen two things—she will fall for a young man with sage green eyes,and he will kill her.

Sixteen-year-old Lark Carew is happiest close to home, tending her garden and gathering herbs for medicines. But when her Sight warns her that monsters called Troths will soon invade her village, Lark is summoned on a journey to seek help from the legendary Riders of Tarnec. Little does she suspect that one of the Riders, Gharain, is the very man who has haunted her visions. Or that the people of Tarnec have called her there for another reason: Lark is the Guardian of Life, the first of four Guardians who must awaken their powers to recover four stolen amulets. Together, the amulets—Life, Death, Dark, and Light—keep the world in Balance. To take back the Life amulet, Lark will have to discover her true inner strength and give in to a love that she swears will be her downfall.


What was good and what was meh?

To be honest, the summary really had me worried. I mean, the classic, chosen one, ‘oh-we-love-each-other-but-you-are-gonna-kill-me’ plot? Not original, and looks like it’s going to be waaaaay too angsty.

Which actually isn’t too far from the actual book.

Now I know everybody is going to roll their eyes, but this book wasn’t that bad. It had its moments, although this is a book I would classify as a mood read.

For example, if you are looking for a high fantasy novel with loads of world-building and fantastical descriptions, DO NOT GO FOR THIS BOOK.

However, if your are looking for a quick fantasy novel that focuses on romance, then yes, do read this. If you enjoy angst, then you’ll probably enjoy this book as well.

There were interesting action scenes, and cute cousin relations.  Lark was timid at first, but later on grew and the story and quest. She did get more confident, but occasionally fell back into neediness, something that annoyed me endlessly. She wasn’t a horrible heroine, as most YA protagonists go, but she doesn’t start off as a butt kicking, empowered female. That  would explain why the first half (third?) of the novel went slowly. Lark’s character wouldn’t stand up to intense scrutiny, but there weren’t any unforgivable flaws.

The other characters were in the same vein… no one was really interesting, but I didn’t detest anyone either. In fact, my favourite character was her cousin, Eve, who is the protagonist of the second book in this series (yes, there are multiple books). Even the romances between different characters were ok… if you enjoy angst. I’m going to say this write now: unnecessary romantic problems pop up, occasionally taking over the story.

The setting was eh. Mainly because of the style of writing, which in my opinion, was the biggest detraction. IT WAS SO STILTED (cringe). I know it was supposed to sound old and medieval and poetic, but it came across as awkward. It was really stiff, and I think that’s why I couldn’t enjoy the book as much as I did.

krrkfuu

I really didn’t enjoy it.

I understand that the author made an effort to be authentic, to immerse the reader in another world, but it failed to do anything for me.However, even with the meh writing, there were some nice action scenes, and nice descriptions of the main villains. Admittedly, they were cliche, but things are cliche for a reason 😛 I would say the same for the plot: it really did have potential, but it didn’t live up to my fantasy expectations.

However, I do want to read the second book, so the book couldn’t have been that bad 😛

shrug


Final Rating: 2 out of 5 stars.


Have any of you read this book? Tell us what you thought!

(And here’s the banner I made for the review XD )

larkrising

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Lark Rising by Sandra Waugh

Talk to Us!

