SUBLIME FRIDAYS! ft Sherlock and John

If there is one thing I have learned in these past few weeks, it’s never ever start watching Sherlock before exams.

Because once you’re in, you can never escape.

sublimefridays

It’s Sarah here πŸ˜€

Basically, every Friday night, my family has a movie night, where we pick a movie, eat sunflower seeds instead of popcorn and watch!

Now, you’d think we’d look like this,

n1cy0ph

All calm and cute, right?

but in reality, we basically fight to the death over which movie is to be played.

6rwntlb

Three way death brawl, people. I’m not even joking.

Unfortunately for all my siblings, we basically watched every movie worth watching during the Christmas break. So when I suggested Sherlock, my sister needed bribing, my brother rolled his eyes, and my mom didn’t care :P.

Now, going in, I had high expectations. I mean, EVERYONE online, and my BFF was going insane. The hype was intense.

I’m pleased to announce that my expectations were absolutely shattered. Destroyed. Wrecked. Sherlock raised the roof, and then some πŸ˜€ It was too good not to review, so here we are!

anigif_optimized-18240-1444250788-1

Literally, every time I see these opening credits, I die internally from joy.

 

mast-sherlock-benedict-martin-cove-hires

❀ The babes ❀

Title: BBC’s Sherlock

Country: Great Britain

Starring: Benedict Cumberbatch as Sherlock, and Martin Freeman as John Watson.

Pilot: A Study in Pink

We start off with John Watson. He’s woken up out of a nightmare from a war zone, and looks extremely tired. He’s a soldier (army doctor), and an injured one at that. However, you get a sense of normalcy looking at him: his hair, sweaters and living quarters are extremely plain and ordinary. He is worried, though: living in London isn’t cheap, especially not in a bachelor pad. So when an old friend suggests a room mate, John agrees to check him out.

vlcsnap-2013-05-31-18h42m19s110_zpsda221c0d

Um, how did you know…?

Obviously, the potential roommate is Sherlock Holmes. He asks if John served in Afghanistan or Iraq… and the look on John’s face is life. We are then introduced to Sherlock’s genius… and his eccentricity. I won’t spoil anything else (although these were all facts given in the trailer πŸ˜‰ )

The episode, being the first one ever aired, was everything a first episode should be. Intriguing, funny, witty and extremely entertaining.Β  My sister, who was all like NO WAY, asked immediately to watch the next one, and my brother, who thought it was going to be crappily made, was all like:

giphy2

God bless quality British TV, eh? πŸ˜‰

Honestly, this episode was extremely well crafted. It gave the viewers insight into how Sherlock did his work, all the while giving us his extremely relatable foil (Dr. Watson).

Their interactions were PURE GOLD. Sherlock was the typical eccentric, weird and fascinating to watch. He also had horrible social skills, which makes him hilarious with no matter whom he’s interacting with. However, if Sherlock was awe-inspiring, then Watson was godly. You’d think that a teenage girl wouldn’t have anything in common with an old, discharged soldier, but Martin Freeman proved me wrong. His reactions to Sherlock are exactly how any normal person would react!

tumblr_lrmtwhdwg71r0ojhto1_500

All calm and cute, right?

Watson provided an amazing and sane contrast to Sherlock’s genius. He asked the questions all the viewers had, and he never really took Sherlock’s shit. And even though he didn’t get all the snazzy lines, his facial expressions were extremely telling. His sighs, frowns, laughter and denials rang true.

All the other characters added humor, and occasionally gravity to the situation. A special shout out goes to Anderson, who manages to lower the IQ of the whole street whenever he opens his mouth, as well as the drugs bust team.

tumblr_m5ca79ojbb1ro07b4o1_r1_500

Volunteer drugs bust.

The plot (and ‘twist’) at the end was predictable to me, but other than that, the episode was perfection!

Rating: 5/5

And now for my favourite quotes!

tumblr_lm5nsmn5uj1qcqljxo1_400

JW: No. SH:What? JW: You? SH: SHUT UP!

tumblr_inline_n1p1p5sdvx1sz51mk

SH: What? JW: Nothing… Welcome to London *snickers*

 

abcdef

I hope you enjoyed my fifth attempt at writing a coherent review! I’m not even joking ~ this post has had 25 revisions as of now πŸ˜›

Β  πŸ˜€ Sarah πŸ˜€

18 thoughts on “SUBLIME FRIDAYS! ft Sherlock and John

  1. NoemΓ­ says:

    Only thing I can’t believe is that you haven’t already seen Sherlock a million years ago! haha! I’m really glad you liked it! It’s the best show of all times and Benedict Cumberbatch is a god! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  2. peculiarb says:

    I feel like I have to apologise for you being pulled into this because of the ridiculous amount of hiatus time (IT’S BEEN TWO YEARS ALREADY SINCE THE LAST SEASON I AM READY TO FIGHT SOMEONE FOR A NEW ONE). What do you think of the relationship between John and Sherlock? Do you ship Johnlock?

    Liked by 2 people

        • sublimereads says:

          No apologies necessary, Peculiarb… but I second your ‘fight me’ sentiment. I cannot imagine what it would be like watching the show since 2010. I think I would have died by now πŸ˜„ Only 1 more year for the next season cries silently

          GAAAAAAAAH SPOILERS (jk, nothing Tumblr hasn’t already ruined for me)
          I can see how people ship Johnlock and I think it’s quite cute. They have a certain chemistry that could go either way πŸ˜€ I haven’t seen Sherlolly in action yet, but I can’t wait πŸ˜›

          Honestly I’m happy to find so many other people who love it as well!

          Like

  3. hiraethforthepages says:

    You have a gift, I’m telling you! Every positive review makes me want to read/watch whatever you are talking about πŸ™‚ So now, Sherlock has been added to my to-watch list and I want to watch it so badly! I know I’m late but I’m so excited to hope onto this bandwagon I don’t really care πŸ˜› Wonderful review!

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to Us!

