The Book Fangirling Award!

Helloooooo! We got nominated by Syc at The Lit Mermaid a billion months ago so thanks for the nomination! But her blog is supah nice, so you should really go check it out! We’re finally trying to catch up with our award posts, so if we’ve been nominated for something and haven’t posted it yet, we are on it! 🙂

Note: We actually answered to these questions a few months ago too, so some of our responses will be a bit out of sync with our current book reading but all of our opinions still apply!


Rules:

  1. Create a post to accept your award.
  2. Add the blog award button into your post and put it on the side of your blog as a widget. Visit fangirling for the award button.
  3. Answer the questions below.
  4. Nominate between 5-10 book bloggers who you think also deserve this award.
  5. Come up with your own 5 questions for your nominees.

Have you ever done anything embarrassing while fangirling?

Faith: Like screaming, squealing, and jumping up and down in a quiet library while heads turned and gave me odd looks? Why yes, of course. We’re pretty good at fangirling if you don’t mind me saying so myself.

Sarah: Like hyperventilating and talking loudly a mile a minute, in a near silent public library? Obviously. 😀

All time favorite book. Only one.

F: Ugh, we always talk about this one and I know at this point everyone is tired of me having to repeat myself every single time. I probably needn’t write this but for those of you who don’t know, it’s Hamlet by Shakespeare. I’m joking, I actually haven’t read Hamlet yet but I sure will… have to. (For those of you genuinely curious, it’s the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan.)

S: Ok I really hate that question because not all books and genres are created equal and you can’t really compare apples to flowers. (F: Okay, it’s like books to books and not fungi to chicken nuggets in outer space. It shouldn’t be that-No wait, it is a hard question.) But since I have to choose, I would say Eyeshield 21, which is a Japanese manga and one of the funniest, heart-warming and inspiring mangas I have read.

How many books do you read on an average in a month?

F: On average 3-5. In a faster month maybe 7. It’s a slow but steady process. Slow and steady wins the race! 🙂 The race is one against time, my friends.

S: I read at least one book a day during the school week… so 20, 25-ish books a month? (F: She’s the rabbit. 😛 See ya on the other side of the finish line!)

Ahaha I love this… a rubber band, a toy skate board, and a turtle 😄

Have you ever fangirled to your parents?

F: Uhh, yeah. Should I even be admitting this? They just don’t get it the same way though. The other day I was COMPLETELY RUINED (for my math tests and generally just acting like a regular homo sapien) because of The Trials of Apollo. I was hardcore fangirling and my dad was just there across the table from me but I couldn’t help it. So it went along the lines of “WHAT EVEN IS AIR OR LIFE WHY DO I FEEL LIKE THIS… laskdfjl;jdaslijaleihlweadalis;fld;ajf HOW TO TYPE 101 dfdafskladjdalfsd. i dont even know what my life even is any more without this book… I- wow. Good bye grammar, goodbye sanity. PLS LET ME HAVE THIS BOOK ASAP. I mean now. sdafkadsj;jase. I mean I’m definitely a patient person but like NOW. I just-”

S: No. ABSOLUTELY NOT. My mom would have me committed…or worse, ban me from reading.

This probably encompasses Sarah’s life. Let’s be real. #SherlockObsessionWayTooHard

When was the last time you fangirled and why?

F: Today because as you may know/have yet to know from our Sisterhood Award post here, my librarian gave me a fresh copy of The Wrath and the Dawn to bring home over the weekend and it definitely made my day. 😛

S: WHHHHAAAAT FAITH WHY YOU NO TELL ME WHAAAT HOW WHY SO UNFAIR I WANT YOUR LIBRARIAN NOOOOO – Just now I guess… but before that, yesterday after reading a really funny parody book, which I’ll probably review.

Me. (Faith)

The WORST book to movie/TV adaptation you have seen that you reverse-fangirled over it?

F: WORST is an intense word. I can’t really say; I didn’t really like the I Am Number Four movie but I did wish that the movie series would have carried on and better yet, become A TV SHOW. I really do think that the later books would have been so much better movie material. An adaption I DID truly love is The Maze Runner meets my expectations and maybe even better. (But shhh I didn’t say that.)

S: I’m not as nice as Faith. The Percy Jackson movies? I wanted to burn everyone alive. As it happens, I reverse fangirled in front of my mom (but she wasn’t listening, so hey). However, like Faith, I LOVED The Maze Runner and I so want to see The Scorch Trials. Also, I really enjoyed ALL the Hunger Games movies. I watched Mockingjay Pt 1 and it was boss. 😀

How does it feel when you finally obtain a long, long awaited book?

F: You mean, like today? Like any crazed fangirl? I-can’t-even-speak-or-explain-myself-it’s-that-good great and shut-up-I’m-trying-to-read-so-get-out-of-the-way-before-you-really-feel-my-wrath (but not the dawn) annoyed. I advise you to stay within a 10 km radius from your nearest book nerd friend with their fresh new book and if it’s yourself, then good luck.

Also, to the friends of a book nerd, here is a fangirl first aid kit in the case of an emergency- nah, I’m kidding. First, second nor third aid kits won’t help: drop everything and RUN.

If you’re still confused, here’s an example.

S: PREACH. BEWARE OF READER…

Any embarrassing fangirling stories? (I know, this question is already asked but I still wanna hear!)

F: Sadly, I don’t have any more because my life is basically one whole embarrassing moment. I mean, I just scream a lot, start crying, jumping up and down, and waving my hands up and down everywhere. It’s like a one-person mad-girl dance party. It’s insane. (Meanwhile, Faith explains this with all the calmness of a bored, procrastinating girl.) 

Heh.

S: Hmm… when my middle school got a shipment of books (like literally 2 huge boxes of new YA) I DIED. I turned so red and couldn’t speak my librarian and friends sat me down and told me to chill. 

What was your biggest book hangover?

F: You mean when I finish a book and can’t get over for hours and hours? AND for the rest of my life? Hm… An Ember in the Ashes and all the Lorien Legacies books have pretty book hangover prone endings.

S: I don’t understand the term ‘Book Hangover’. Do you mean a book I thought about forever, or a book that made any book after it pale in comparison? Either way, there are way too many to list. Cinder, Percy Jackson, Harry Potter and Uprooted all make the cut ~ but there are many other books and series like that.

Which book made you cry for the first time?

F: The classic Black Beauty by Anna Sewell. Unexpected, right? Or maybe not. I read this in grade 5-ish and I loved it but it was so sad… it kept making me cry genuine tears for that poor horse. Agh, the emotion!

S: I have a confession to make. I don’t cry. I laugh. (F: Well, then I’m glad you’ll laugh for me if I ever trip and fall. Side note: You know when you walk into a pole and your friends laugh until they’re in tears before asking if you’re okay? Yeah, that has happened to me.) And if I tear up, that’s a major accomplishment. So congratulations Speak and Cut. Only time I’ve ever really cried 😥

Our Questions:

  1. Which moment in your life had kick-started your love of reading? Any specific books?
  2. You were granted an opportunity to meet Harry Potter but you’re only allowed one sentence to say to him. What would it be?
  3. What’s a soundtrack that would basically encompass your all-time favourite book?
  4. When it comes to YA books, what would be your fangirl/boy level from a scale of 1-10?
  5. Would you rather be best friends with or in a relationship (dating/married) with your favourite fictional character?

Here are our fantastic nominees! If you’ve already received this award or have A TON on your plate already, no worries. We are most definitely in the same boat as you in award and tag completions. Hope you enjoy these questions! ❤

The Orang-utan Librarian 

Hazra at Another Ramble

Parneet at The Enchanted Book

The Galaxial Word

Michelle at The Writing Hufflepuff


We hope you’re enjoying your day so far! If not, here’s a bucket-full of positive vibes!! 🙂

10 thoughts on “The Book Fangirling Award!

  1. The Galaxial Word says:

    Faith you are absolutely amazing (though you too, Sarah XD!). I swear that I need to put this on a cushion or design a quote thingy and print it and stick it to my wall. The next time a teacher asks me: “what’s the most embarrassing moment you’ve ever had at school?” or blah blah, I NEED to counter with: “I can’t say because my whole life is basically one big embarrassing moment”. That is absolutely brilliant. Perfect.

    Also, thanks for nominating me. I’ll EVENTUALLY get round to doing it and I’ll do like a fanboy version or something. I was about to ask, too. Did you nominate me for an award ages ago, and I promised you I’d do it, but never did it? I need to post more awards/tags. I’ve literally done one. ONE. I know pathetic.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sublimereads says:

    THANKS that’s probably the greatest compliment I’ll ever get for one of my “Faith lines”! (People take me way too seriously sometimes). I’m glad you related? Much flattery. 😄 Though it’s probably not the absolute best thing to relate to but I mean, feel free to put it on a plaque above your doorway or something. 😛

    You’re super welcome! Haha “eventually” is what we all say to ourselves… But yes we nominated you for the “Keep It Fresh Award” which we uh, maybe probably might’ve by chance made it ourselves soooo if you feel like doing it, here’s the link: https://sublimereads.wordpress.com/2015/09/06/the-keep-it-fresh-award/
    Anyways, I guess now we can all be an embarrassing AND pathetic bunch! How’s that for motivation? 😀 (We’ve also got a TON of awards and tags to go through too).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thuong Le says:

    Great tag! I actually can’t fangirl or squeal because I feel weird doing it lol but I can talk excitedly about certain TV shows like Game of Thrones and the Walking Dead 😀
    I think the worst TV adaption is Cassie Clare’s Shadowhunters lol so far its a bit cheesy but I still give it a chance and watch the first season, I’m sure its got a bit of potential. I’m currently having a children’s classics phase, so I think I need to read Black Beauty at some point!

    Liked by 1 person

    • sublimereads says:

      Thanks! 🙂 Talking excitedly is good too~
      Hm… I haven’t actually watched the TV adaption but I did watch the movie and it wasn’t that bad. Yes, that would be interesting to reread. If you haven’t read/reread Secret Garden yet, I would really recommend it!!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. hiraethforthepages says:

    Ahhh, the ways of the fangirl, where embarrassing is now the norm 😛 I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve had to apologise to petrified victims when they experience one of my fangirl moments.

    Uprooted definitely did leave me in a book hangover and I’m going to start reading Ember in the Ashes soon so hopefully that book does too!

    And a round of applause to Sarah: I mean 20 books a week?! That’s some brilliant skill. Don’t worry Faith, we’ll win this race together 😄

    Hilarious post by the way guys!

    Liked by 1 person

    • sublimereads says:

      WOW I can’t believe we didn’t reply to this yet!!! SORRY! I knowwww, your first fangirl embarrassment is basically a benchmark of a lifetime dedicated to fangirling! I hope you’ll like An Ember in the Ashes. 🙂

      Yes, we will slowly but surely win the race. It’s a struggle.

      And thank you very much! We love all your commenting!! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to Us!

