A Fangirling Friday in February

Hey there! 🙂

What you are about to witness are two average teenage girls doing what they do best: fangirling.

Sarah: It was a cold and windy Wednesday, here in Canada. It was snowing outside, a bio lab was due the next day, and I was stressed. To blow away some time, I checked my Indigo subscription. Under the ‘Books you may like’ tab, I saw the book that would kill my motivation, shatter my drive and utterly wreck the last question of that bio lab. (RIP #8). So I decided to share the great news…

Faith: Basically, I was sitting at the computer when Sarah sent me something along the lines of “HEY GUESS WHAT?”. So naturally, I went to check it out to read the excerpt and… BAM. I was done. It was all over. I couldn’t concentrate on anything for the rest of my life.  THE END.

It snuck up on me without my noticing. It was a sly shadow in the night. All I could ever hope for. My life’s need. It’s The Hidden Oracle (Book 1 of The Apollo Trials) by Rick Riordan. If you aren’t up to speed with what these books are going to be about, we’re here to keep you updated! (You might’ve read about a hint of this in our Book Fangirling Award post but here’s the real deal.)


I feel as if I’m in a trial more than Apollo because all this waiting is testing my patience. (That was a Faith pun, guys. Sarah is on trial for attack Faith after a few hidden puns. Don’t need no oracle to tell you that Sarah is a repeat offender 😉 ).

The Hidden Oracle is the start of another series that reveals yet another angle to the on-going story at Camp Half-blood. Last time, we were blown away at the idea that there could be… TWO camps. This time, however, we are facing something a little different: Apollo has been punished and he is visiting Camp Half-Blood… as a teenager.  WHAT?! AHH, the awkwardness and the angst! You know, just all the good times we cherish. So Apollo is going to be a powerless human? He’s going to be working side-by-side with the crew of the Argo 2? He’s going to be meeting his own teen children? That’s right… Uh, probably. We think. We mean, what’s a Rick Riordan book without a few extremely (and possible fatal excited eyes family reunions?)

This book is everything that we’ve ever wanted. We’re going to get reunited with characters that we know and love and we get to see how Camp Half Blood and Camp Jupiter are doing in the aftermath of the Battle of Olympus. I (Sarah) am personally hoping for a Caleo moment (since, you know, we were cheated out of the last one) and extremely adorable Percabeth moments. It never gets old ;). Best of all, there will be more lame, I mean great, jokes and lines via Leo and Percy!! Rick Riordan humour is magnificent… I (Faith) love that they’re sandwiched between even the most intense of scenes. That’s WHY I love them… it’s amazing comic relief but the bizarrity of actually making a JOKE when you’re about it DIE is almost like a joke within itself. They’re cheating death with puns. (It’s unfair how much they get to cheat on their tests while I’m struggling fair and square through my test of waiting ever so patiently for this book.)

Basically, we are EXCITED for this book. But excited just does not draw the line. We are uncharacteristically hysterically enthusiastic for the release of this book. We are massively, crazily obsessed. This post, if you have read thus far, is the culmination of all the feelings we have exhausted with each other. Strangely, it doesn’t get old, but that’s just us.

26252859

Expected Publication: May 3rd 2016 by Disney-Hyperion

If you feel intrigued, then get excited with us and make sure you mark it down on your Goodreads too! Get ready, because on May 3rd, The Hidden Oracle will be coming out of hiding! 😀

~ Sarah & Faith

6 thoughts on “A Fangirling Friday in February

Talk to Us!

