Which Wednesday: Musical Edition

2

Hello all! In honor of our fourth ever Which Wednesday, we’ve decided to switch things up. It’s totally not because Sarah had no idea what books to compare and was begging Faith for ideas. Shakes head Nu-uh.

This incarnation of Which Wednesday is slightly different, as I am actually listening to something I’ve never heard before. I asked Faith for two similar sounding bands, and 2 songs from each. And then, off to Youtube and Spotify I went, with open ears πŸ˜€

The two bands Faith as recommended are Oh Wonder and Wet.(Information from Wikipedia, because I’m doing this at school πŸ˜„ )

Oh Wonder:

A London-based alt-pop duo, consisting of Josephine Vander Gucht and Anthony West. Since releasing their DIY debut album, they have seen international success with their mellow, slow-grooving, R&B-flecked alt-pop tunes.

ARGH WIKIPEDIA STOP SPOILING MEEEEEEEE


Wet

Wet is an American musical group made up of members Kelly Zutrau, Joe Valle, and Marty Sulkow.

Ah, that’s better. No genres. But since I already know they sound similar…

albumart

wet-dont-you

 

So, this is Wet’s Album cover (The album Don’t You). Looks very… artsy? I don’t really feel anything when I look at it though. It probably has a deeper meaning, but I’m sick of literary analyses (Hi my English teacher)

 

packshot

 

Wow, if I didn’t feel anything for the last one, then I’m practically comatose for this one. I don’t like the uber minimalist look guys. Makes me feel as if you aren’t even trying, people!

 

At the very least, we can be thankful that none of them look like The Life Of Pablo.

kanye-west-life-of-pablo-cover-compressed

Rant: I spend all my time trying to better my Photoshop skills and admiring all these graphic artists and album covers and Kanye decides to drop this ugly-ass album cover on us – my eyes are OFFENDED. I mean, six year old me woulda called him out on that ugliness. I have better graphics on my blog, for goodness sakes!

genre

Ahem. Thank you, Wikipedia, for telling me they both are mellow, slow-grooving, R&B-flecked alt-pop bands.

EDIT: From my initial listen, I’d say Wet is more synthpop while Oh Wonder has definite R&B vibes.

initial

That was a sudden start… and I see that there is only one vocalist. Female. Very chill… I get an pop vibe – but that changes around a lot. I’m on the fence for this. Do I like it?
It sounds like it’s about relationships, so I’m not the biggest fan, topically (get it, on the surface?). But perfect for chill listening. Faith said every band had an upbeat song and a quieter one. Is this the upbeat one?
I love the chorus though.

How do I describe this – ballad-y? Noticed: when the beat drops by and a guitar, I instantly like the song better. I guess her voice doesn’t do enough for me. I guess that’s because I don’t really like female singers. I absolutely love it when the guitar and beat build, however. Makes the song worth it. I really like the ending (and not because it’s over).

VERDICT: I like All the Ways more than Weak. But I don’t dislike Weak.

I’m really liking the beat and piano three seconds in πŸ˜„ And it’s a duet, so I like it already! More R&B influenced than the last one… I CAN HEAR HER ACCENT.

tumblr_n20lk6zfxd1sy2etno8_250

GUYS.

I’m seriously loving this song right now. It’s the best out of the three so far (obviously, in my opinion πŸ˜‰ ) I’m not sure who the girl sounds like… any suggestions? It sounds familiar. Repetitive. Lots of lines I like here πŸ™‚

I…. don’t like this one. Even if the vocals are strong here. I just don’t like the chorus. I like the other parts, but not the chorus. Is that weird? Its too quiet, tbh.

VERDICT: I really like Without You and dislike Livewire.

lyrics

Links to the song go to Genius, and I put my favourite lyrics of that song underneath it.

All the Ways

You seem tired of my excuses
I’m so tired from all this losing

But every time I see you
I think of all the ways that this could end
All the ways, all the ways

Weak

Is baby, please don’t leave me
You are all I ever need

Oh baby, baby, baby
If you’re leavin’, leavin’, leavin’

Without you

Since I’ve been walking solo
Dreaming you were back home
I find getting down low
Hide until tomorrow

Come back into the good life
Lose these hazy love lies
I’ve been chasing my mind
Lonely in the cold nights

Cause I’m kicking up stones without you
Can’t pick up the phone without you
I’m a little bit lost without you
Without you

And I’m digging down holes without you
Can’t be on my own without you
I’m a little bit lost without you
Without you

Livewire

I’ve been depending on the overgrown
Too many lovers that I’ll never know
Counting my losses as I let them go
Heavy the water as I sink below…

Down, down deep down
Down deep down
Down, down deep down

originialuty

In terms of Youtube comments, Oh Wonder wins this ~ I found this hilarious tidbit of information.

Note: I’m probably the only one in the world who finds it amusing, but that’s ok.

Listen to the first 10 seconds of Without you

and the first 14 seconds of Young, Wild and Free.

Deja vu, guys? Because #420love, that’s why. πŸ˜„
Obviously, Oh Wonder sampled the beat, and that’s why I felt like I’ve heard this before. Anyways, Oh Wonder did use it differently, so kudos to them.

The only downside is that I’m gonna have Snoop Dog stuck in my head, and will totally be humming this sing about weed (and I’ve never even seen alcohol in my life, guys).


Conclusion: Both bands live to see my playlist, along with Wiz, Bruno and Snoop. What did you guys think of the songs?

recs2

πŸ˜€ Thanks for reading! πŸ˜€
Sarah

8 thoughts on “Which Wednesday: Musical Edition

  1. hiraethforthepages says:

    NO GET THAT KANYE ALBUM COVER OT OF MY HEAD. That is one VERY ugly cover runs away

    I’ve only ever heard of Wet but I’m gonna check them out πŸ˜„ Seems they are okay don’t they? Glad to see you enjoyed Without You, that was one of my favourites not too long ago.

    Today’s Which Wednesday is great (as always!), glad to see the music aspect of it πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Paul @ The Galaxial Word says:

    Very interesting! It’s always good to change it up a bit now and then and include something different, and music is a great topic! (Also I heard about people parodying Kanye’s album cover before I saw the cover itself and spent so long trying to find the real cover because it looked so ugly I just thought it was a parody and passed it over the first time XD) I don’t particularly listen to this kind of genre, but I really enjoyed the songs πŸ˜€ (I promise you I am currently working on the book tag. IT’S A LONG ONE OKAY?? XD)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The Love Tag

Talk to Us!

