White Pine Wednesday: Rabbit Ears

This week, I’ll be talking about Rabbit Ears, by Maggie de Vries.

18053322


Initial thoughts:

Well. The cover looks familiar (Delusion Road, TAOGSA and Brannan filter), but that’s just me. This also deals with sex, albeit sex work, and looks very, very, very sad. I’ll save this until I’m being annoying. It’ll probably shut me up quick. But anyway, the Robert Pickton (aka the most infamous Canadian serial killer) twist (and the real life relation) are certainly unexpected… I’d like to see how this goes.


After Reading:

Some stories are hard to tell. Some stories are hard to listen to. Some stories are hard to read. Some stories are unsettling, uncomfortable and upsetting. Rabbit Ears is all of theses and more. It deserves to be read, at the very least.

Now, I can’t say this book was enjoyable – at no point in these 288 pages was I happy or in a pleasant mood.  Admittedly, half the reason is the subject matter (drug addiction and prostitution) but the other was definitely the style of writing. Using the form of writing usually only found in choose-your-own-adventure books,  (You, you and you) was an unsettling experience. I could never settle in with the story, simply because I could not relate, not one iota, to what the main character was experiencing. I imagine that this book would be more powerful for those who have had experiences like her, or see traits in her that they share, but as her literal polar opposite, I was extremely uncomfortable.

I couldn’t relate to Kaya at all. I couldn’t understand her decisions – but as I read on, I came to a minor understanding of what her life was. Not enough to satisfy me, but what would life be if I read books with characters just like me?

Fortunately, this book was a fast paced, quick read – as much as I felt awkward, I still wanted to know more (and come to a resolution). In fact, the plot twist… that dude… for those of you that have read it, was completely shocking and pissed me off. People like that are why we can’t have nice things.

9428dd89094b32c967363073d5073297

Like why do some people have to be utter pieces of shite?

The conclusion was satisfying – well, as satisfying as it could be, and even though I didn’t enjoy the story, it was worth the read. The fact that it is based on the story of the author’s sister really hit home: although I couldn’t image that happening in real life, a woman out there really did live it. It’s upsetting and unsettling, at the very least.


Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The murderer of the Sarah De Vries (the author’s sister) and many other women is currently trying to publish a book on Amazon – if you are interested, sign this petition to get him banned!

Petition

❤ I hope you guys have a safe and warm day ❤

Sarah

 

7 thoughts on “White Pine Wednesday: Rabbit Ears

  1. hiraethforthepages says:

    Nice post! I agree, sometimes its hard to connect to a character because of the way the story is written and/or the difference to them in real life. I am however, still adding this book to my list -you have that kind of charm 😉 – I love a good twist and although this story seems difficult in the way of its harsh nature, it seems powerful(?) and really good!

    And the petition has a confirmed victory! Great on you for sharing it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • sublimereads says:

      Thank you! I think it was just the problems that the characters faced. I mean, let’s be honest, what’s the worst thing that’s happened to me? A 17% on a math test? XD It is quite powerful – if you can get over the stylistic barriers 😀
      You’re right : I just checked the petition now ~ I’m glad Amazon came to their senses! Power to the people! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Paul @ The Galaxial Word says:

    I wonder why they used the second person. Sometimes, I feel like authors are trying too hard to create books that are different – writing without punctuation, writing in poetry, writing without capital letters, writing completely in lists, etc. Just give me a good book without all the gimmicks!

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to Us!

