White Pine Wednesdays: Delusion Road

Hello world!

Now that you have recovered from our April Fool’s post, we are back to our regularly scheduled (and well written πŸ˜‰ ) posts!

23590704

This week, I’ll be reviewing Delusion Road… which is actually harder than it sounds. Trying to type this out reminds me of something Paul once said (I can’t find the post right now): it wasn’t a terrible book, it was just… meh. Forgettable. It was enjoyable enough that I finished it without feeling like I was slogging/obliged to read it, but at the same time, it was missing that thing that would have me rate it higher.

It was a solid book all round: even though it was filled with cliches (just look at that summary: I dare you not to roll your eyes). However, it was solid: especially with the character development. Even if the plot was sort of boring, the character arcs (and how they grew) were very interesting. I didn’t hate any characters (which surprises me) as they all had something to add. If anything, the occasional predictability made it comfortable.

This is the kind of book that you have to read in a certain mood, otherwise it feels really meh. I enjoyed the easy style of writing and plot, but it was missing something essential. (The mean, sarcastic person in me says β€œoriginality”.)

Even so, I would rate this book 3 out of 5 stars.

~ Sarah

(And I’m really sorry about the short review, but balancing procrastination, building a crane out of popsicles and an English-cum-media assignment/presentation – due on Friday, but assigned on Tuesday – is stressing me out)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “White Pine Wednesdays: Delusion Road

  1. Paul @ The Galaxial Word says:

    “Trying to type this out reminds me of something Paul once said (I can’t find the post right now): it wasn’t a terrible book, it was just… meh”

    HAHA I say this for basically every single book I review except for ones that I really liked or really hated XD

    Short reviews can be really good sometimes because you can sum up the book in a tiny little segment of writing that is super easy to read and that your readers can just skim without too much effort. This is basically my excuse for any of my short reviews that I do because I don’t want to say I was too lazy to do a long review XD XD XD

    Good luck with your presentation, and um, your crane popsicle thingy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • sublimereads says:

      SORRY FOR THE LATE REPLY!! @.@
      The crane broke at 10kg πŸ˜₯
      So we ended up at an 80%… some kids got it to hold 26 kg… and the crane itself weighed 282 grams. I know you probably don’t care, BUT STILL

      Honestly, I think everyone does that. I mean, why waste your breathe on a book that you didn’t even feel was worth reading? XD I’m glad you liked the short style πŸ™‚

      TYSM ❀

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to Us!

